University of Minnesota
American Studies
amstdy@umn.edu
612-624-4190


American Studies' Home Page

American Studies Faculty Core and Associated Faculty

The American Studies Department consists of core faculty members with their tenure lines in the American Studies Department. Faculty members (more than fifty) are considered associate faculty with their home (tenure line) departments located throughout the University and at outside institutions. Each of these colleagues has made a commitment to the interdisciplinary study of American culture. and is available to advise American Studies graduate students. Officers of the Department are usually selected from the core and University associate faculty.

Department Officers

Department officers also include department administrators.
Brenda Child Department Chair
Professor
child011@umn.edu
David Karjanen Director of Undergraduate Studies
Professor
karjanen@umn.edu
Kale Fajardo Interim Director of Graduate Studies
Professor
kfajardo@umn.edu

Core Faculty

Bianet Castellanos Associate Professor of American Studies mbc@umn.edu
Brenda Child Associate Professor of American Studies and
American Indian Studies
child011@umn.edu
Kale B Fajardo Associate Professor of American Studies kfajardo@umn.edu
David Karjanen Associate Professor of American Studies and Global Studies karjanen@umn.edu
Elaine Tyler May Professor of American Studies and History mayxx002@umn.edu
Lorena Muñoz Assistant Professor of American Studies lmunoz@umn.edu
Jennifer Pierce Professor of American Studies pierc012@umn.edu
Elliott Powell Assistant Professor of American Studies ehpowell@umn.edu
Terrion Williamson Assistant Professor of American Studies, African & African American Studies, and Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies tlwillia@umn.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Lary May Professor of American Studies mayxx001@umn.edu
Carol Miller Associate Professor of American Studies and
American Indian Studies
mille004@umn.edu
David Noble Professor of American Studies noble015@umn.edu
Riv-Ellen Prell Professor of American Studies prell001@umn.edu
Gayle Graham Yates Professor of American Studies graha001@umn.edu

Associate Faculty

Lisa Albrecht Associate Professor, School of Social Work lalbrech@umn.edu
Aren Aizura Assistant Professor of Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies azaizura@umn.edu
Bruce Braun Professor of Geography braun038@umn.edu
Timothy Andres Brennan Professor of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature brenn032@umn.edu
Rose Brewer Professor of African American and African Studies brewe001@umn.edu
Robert 'Robin' Brown Associate Professor of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature brown004@umn.edu
David A.Y.O. Chang Professor of History dchang@umn.edu
Susan L Craddock Professor of Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies craddock@umn.edu
Jeffrey R. Crump Associate Professor of Design, Housing, and Apparel; Housing Studies Program jrcrump@umn.edu
Jigna Desai Associate Professor, Gender, Women & Sexuality desai003@umn.edu
Tracy Ann Deutsch Associate Professor of History tdeutsch@umn.edu
Gail L Dubrow Dean of Graduate School Adm dubrow@umn.edu
Penny Edgell Professor of Sociology edgell@umn.edu
Michael Gallope Assistant Professor of Cultural Studies/Comparative Literature mgallope@umn.edu
Vinay Gidwani Professor of Geography gidwa002@umn.edu
Sumanth Gopinath Associate Professor of Music Theory sumanth@umn.edu
Ronald W Greene Associate Professor Communication Studies green179@umn.edu
Annie Hill Assistant Professor Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies hilla@umn.edu
Douglas Hartmann Associate Professor of Sociology hartm021@umn.edu
Karen Zouwen Ho Associate Professor of Anthropology karenho@umn.edu
Sally Kohlstedt Professor of History of Science and Technology sgk@umn.edu
Erika Lee Professor of History erikalee@umn.edu
Josephine Lee Professor of English Language and Literature jolee@umn.edu
Richard Leppert Professor of Cultural Studies and Comparative Literature leppe001@umn.edu
Alex Lubet Professor of Music lubet001@umn.edu
Christine Marran Associate Professor Asian Languages and Literature marran@umn.edu
Jennifer Jane Marshall Assitant Professor of Art History marsh590@umn.edu
Keith A. Mayes Associate Professor of African American and African Studies mayes@umn.edu
Patrick J. McNamara Associate Professor of History pjm@umn.edu
Ellen Messer-Davidow Professor of English Language and Literature emd@umn.edu
Kevin Murphy Associate Professor of History kpmurphy@umn.edu
Richa Nagar Professor of Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies nagar@umn.edu
Jean O'Brien-Kehoe Professor of History obrie002@umn.edu
Yuichiro Onishi Associate Professor of African American & African Studies ohni0001@umn.edu
Laurie J Ouellette Associate Professor Communication Studies ouell031@umn.edu
Lena Palacios Assistant Professor Gender, Women, & Sexuality Studies lena@umn.edu
Jimmy C. Patino Jr. Assistant Professor of Chicano and Latino Studies jpatinoj@umn.edu
Daniel Philippon Associate Professor of Writing Studies danp@umn.edu
Steven Ruggles Professor of History ruggl001@umn.edu
Jani Scandura Associate Professor of English Language and Literature jani@umn.edu
Robert Silberman Associate Professor of Art History silbe001@umn.edu
Katherine M. Solomonson Associate Professor of Architecture & Landscape Architecture solom003@umn.edu
Hoon Song Associate Professor of Anthropology songx080@umn.edu
Eden Torres Associate Professor of Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies torre007@umn.edu
David Valentine Associate Professor of Anthropology valen076@umn.edu
Barbara Welke Professor of History welke004@umn.edu
David E. Wilkins Professor of American Indian Studies wilkinsd@umn.edu